Ports & Terminals

Semo Port Commissioners

Semo Port
Kent Puchbauer, Semo Port board chairman, presents a plaque to Jerry Lorberg of Cape County, who is leaving the board’s Member at Large position after serving during 2016–2017. Lloyd Smith of Scott County will fill the Member at Large position during 2018–2019. The Member at Large position alternates every two years between Cape Girardeau County and Scott County. Semo Port was created by the two counties in 1975. In the photo are, from left, Pete Burns, Will Bucher, Bruce Marrs, Smith, Steve Obermann, Puchbauer, Larry Dowdy, Lorberg and Mark Kluesner.

The Scott County Commission appointed Lloyd Smith of Sikeston as the Member at Large of the Southeast Missouri Regional Port Authority (Semo Port), serving a two-year appointment for 2018–2019. Smith, now retired, served for 28 years on the staff of U.S. Rep. Bill Emerson and then for Rep. Jo Ann Emerson. Later, he served as executive director of the Missouri Republican Party.

Two board members were reappointed by their respective county commissions to another four-year term (2018–2021). They are Larry Dowdy from Cape County and Rice “Pete” Burns from Scott County.

Semo Port was created in 1975 by Scott County and Cape Girardeau County. The port’s slackwater harbor opened in 1990 and the Semo Port Railroad started in 1994. Today, the six industries at the port and their customers move more than 1.5 million tons of products annually using barge, truck and rail transportation.

Sign up for Waterway Journal's weekly newsletter.Our weekly newsletter delivers the latest inland marine news straight to your inbox including breaking news, our exclusive columns and much more.