National Waterways Foundation Elects New Officers At Pittsburgh Meeting

At its November 6 meeting in Pittsburgh, the National Waterways Foundation (NWF) elected a slate of trustees and officers.

The NWF is  a center for research and learning where waterways industry leaders and thinkers perform and contract research and address public policy issues related to America’s inland waterways system. Its mission is “to develop the intellectual and factual arguments for an efficient, well-funded and secure inland waterways system.”

NWF officers elected for terms expiring in 2020 are: Rick Calhoun, chairman; Mike Toohey, Waterways Council Inc., president; Deb Calhoun, Waterways Council Inc., secretary; Cherrie Felder, Channel Shipyard, vice chairman; and Matt Woodruff, Kirby Corporation, treasurer.

“It will be my pleasure to work with these esteemed trustees and officers on the critically important industry studies that help to communicate the value of the inland waterways to our many audiences,” Calhoun said.

Sign up for Waterway Journal's weekly newsletter.Our weekly newsletter delivers the latest inland marine news straight to your inbox including breaking news, our exclusive columns and much more.

The NWF trustees with terms expiring in 2022 include: Tom Allegretti, American Waterways Operators; Cherrie Felder, Channel Shipyard; Nelson Spencer Sr., The Waterways Journal; Jake Haulk; Peter Stephaich, Campbell Transportation Company; Merritt Lane, Canal Barge Company; Mario Munoz, Turn Services; and Rob Innis, LaFarge Holcim.

New trustees with terms expiring in 2022 are: Clark Todd, Blessey Marine; Stephen Sheridan, Arcosa Inc.; and Michael Hennessey, Metal Shark.

Trustees with terms expiring in 2021 include: Teri Goodmann, city of Dubuque, Iowa; Robert McCoy, Amherst Madison; Tim Parker, Parker Towing Company; Kirsten Wallace, Upper Mississippi River Basin    Association; Bobby Frederick, National Grain & Feed Association; Rick Calhoun; Chad Pregracke, Living Lands & Waters; and Charles Fabrikant, Seacor Holdings Inc.

Trustees with terms expiring in 2020 include: Barker Price, J. Russell Flowers Inc.; Brian Mueller, The Heartland Companies; Mark Knoy, ACBL; Dan Mecklenborg, Ingram Barge Company; Craig Philip, Vanderbilt University; David Rider, Seamen’s Church Institute; Mike Toohey, Waterways Council Inc.; Rodney Weinzierl, Illinois Corn Growers Association; and Matt Woodruff, Kirby Corporation.