St. Paul District Hydraulic Engineer Honored

Ann Banitt, the St. Paul Engineer District’s senior hydraulic engineer, was recently given the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers’ Hydrology, Hydraulics and Coastal Community of Practice Professional of the Year Award.

The award, which recognizes the water resource engineering contributions and leadership of members of the Corps hydrology, hydraulics and coastal community of practice, was presented virtually June 24.

Banitt received the award for her work coordinating, supporting and leading multiple complex studies, including hydrologic modeling work on the Columbia River and studies in support of the Louisville, Memphis and New Orleans engineer districts. Additionally, she provides technical hydrology and climate change reviews for Corps offices across the country and provides leadership and collaboration as the Mississippi Valley Division hydrologic modeling, statistics and risk regional technical specialist.

“There’s no one I’ve worked with in my career who is more deserving of this recognition than Ann,” said Mike Knoff, St Paul District hydraulics and hydrology branch chief. “She not only excels as a technical expert in the field of hydrology, but she has demonstrated leadership and a true passion to advance the profession both inside and outside of the Corps. She truly embodies what Corps leadership had in mind when they established this award.”

Sign up for Waterway Journal's weekly newsletter.Our weekly newsletter delivers the latest inland marine news straight to your inbox including breaking news, our exclusive columns and much more.

Banitt is a registered professional engineer. She has been with the Corps since 1991 and is a member of numerous teams focused on hydrology, including the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers National Committee on Hydrologic Engineering. Banitt also serves as the director of education for the Minneapolis-St. Paul Post of the Society of Military Engineers and is a member of the planning committee for the Annual Minnesota Water Resources Conference and the Minnesota Climate Adaptation Partnership Conference.