Paducah’s Cahill Appointed To Kentucky Advisory Board

Kentucky Gov. Andy Beshear has appointed Tim Cahill, director of the Paducah-McCracken County Riverport Authority, to the state’s Waterway Transportation Advisory Board.

Cahill was appointed October 15 to fill the remainder of the unexpired term of Matthew Yates of Louisville, who resigned. He will serve in the role through the remainder of the term, September 30, 2022.

“I’m excited for the opportunity to participate, to play a role in increasing opportunity for Kentucky because of the waterway,” he said.

He added that it was important to him that far western Kentucky have representation on the board.

Sign up for Waterway Journal's weekly newsletter.Our weekly newsletter delivers the latest inland marine news straight to your inbox including breaking news, our exclusive columns and much more.

Beshear also reappointed Brian Wright, director of the Owensboro Riverport Authority, to a second term effective October 1. His term expires September 30, 2025. Wright chairs the board.

The seven-member board advises the Kentucky Transportation Cabinet, the Cabinet for Economic Development, the governor’s office and the General Assembly on matters relating to water transportation and how the state can make best use of its waterways and riverports for future economic growth. Four board members must be from the state’s public riverport system. Board members agree to serve as unpaid volunteers for four-year terms.

Wright said the board plays an important role as a liaison between state government and private industry.

“I think it’s critical that the public [riverport] authorities in the state of Kentucky have a conduit and continuous link to the Transportation Cabinet,” he said.

In addition to its other duties, the board assesses and evaluates funding distribution for the Kentucky Riverport Improvement grant program on an annual basis. Most recently, he said, the board has been actively involved in the state’s ongoing riverport study “to help ensure the state remains in forefront of water transportation,” Wright said.

Other board members are: Joseph Crabtree, vice chair, retired director of the Kentucky Transportation Center; Steven Alley, director of sales, Ingram Barge Company; L. Wayne Cassady, engineer, Vector Engineers; Billy Ray Coursey, chairman, Eddyville Riverport and Industrial Development Authority; and Greg Pritchett, executive director, Henderson County Riverport Authority.