New Orleans Port Ministry Names Brandy Christian 2021 Maritime Person Of The Year

Global Maritime Ministries (GMM), a New Orleans-based port ministry that serves international seafarers calling on terminals along the Lower Mississippi River, has named Port NOLA President and CEO Brandy Christian as the 2021 recipient of its Crystal Lighthouse Award, which honors the group’s maritime person of the year.

GMM will present Christian with the award during the organization’s Lighthouse Gala, which will be held at the Audubon Tea Room in New Orleans on October 21. The event will feature live music and a silent auction. GMM will also recognize other port representatives during the event.

Besides leading the Port of New Orleans, Christian also serves as CEO of the New Orleans Public Belt Railroad, a Class 3 switching railroad that connects port facilities to all six Class 1 rail carriers. Global Maritime Ministries Executive Director Philip Vandercook praised Christian for her leadership in growing cargo volumes at the port and leading the port to explore developing a new container terminal in St. Bernard Parish, along with guiding the port through the COVID-19 pandemic.

“Brandy Christian rose to the occasion and incisively led the port through especially challenging times during the pandemic,” Vandercook said. “For this achievement and numerous other accomplishments, it is our privilege to honor her this year.”

Sign up for Waterway Journal's weekly newsletter.Our weekly newsletter delivers the latest inland marine news straight to your inbox including breaking news, our exclusive columns and much more.

Tickets for the event are available for $75 through GMM’s website, Proceeds will benefit Global Maritime Ministries.

GMM is in the midst of its annual “Global Fest,” which combines online auctions with in-person events. Online auctions opened July 30, with a live event planned in New Orleans for August 6. More details are available on the Global Maritime Ministries website.

Past recipients of the GMM Maritime Person of the Year award include David Fennelly, co-chairman of Associated Terminals and Turn Services; Sean Duffy, executive director of the Big River Coalition and executive vice president of the Louisiana Maritime Association; and Gary Lagrange, former president and CEO of the Port of New Orleans.